2018 BOD Election

All current GS members are eligible to vote in the Board of Directors election. Voting instructions were sent by email on Nov. 9. Please contact gsoffice@geochemsoc.org if you have any questions about how to vote or did not receive the ballot.

A brief biography of each candidate is presented below. Click on a candidate's name for more information.

Vice President

The Vice President nominates members and chairs of the various committees of the society and serves on the Board as a voting member. The Vice President is elected for a two-year term, followed by a two-year term as President. He or she also serves on the Goldschmidt Forum, the governing body of the Goldschmidt Conference.


Vickie Bennett is a Professor at the Research School of Earth Sciences, Australian National University, where she is also an Associate Director and the Head of the SPYDE2R Isotope Geochemistry Facility. Her research applies isotopic approaches to understanding the origin and evolution of Earth's continental crust and mantle reservoirs, early planetary differentiation, and geosphere–biosphere interactions in deep time. Bennett's service to the Geochemical Society includes the Board of Directors, Award Nomination Committee, Goldschmidt Medal Committee, Nominations Committee and Early Earth theme leader for the 2016 Goldschmidt Conference. She is a Geochemical Fellow and a Fellow of the Geological Society of America.

Fumio Inagaki is a principal scientist and the deputy director of the Research and Development Center for Ocean Drilling Science and the Kochi Institute for Core Sample Research, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC). He obtained his PhD at the Kyushu University, Japan (2000), and was an Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellow at the Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology in Bremen, Germany (2005-2006). His research interests are centered on geomicrobiology and biogeochemistry of the ocean, with special focus on the deep subseafloor biosphere. He uses scientific ocean drilling and transdisciplinary approaches to explore the limits and evolution of the deep biosphere, ecosystem functions in biogeochemical carbon cycles, and the planetary habitability of deep life on the Earth and beyond. He was a member of the GS Patterson Award Committee, the Deep Life steering committee of the Deep Carbon Observatory (DCO, 2013-), a senior editor of The ISME Journal (2017-), the first awardee of the AGU Taira Prize (2015), and significantly contributed to biogeochemistry/geobiology-related sessions in past Goldschmidt conferences.  


Non-Officer Director

Non-Officer Directors participate in Board discussions and serve on the Board as voting members.This is a three-year term of service. In order for the Board membership to reflect the regional diversity of the Society membership, this year requires election of one officer from North America (Region 1) and one from Africa, Asia, Australia, or Central/South America (Region 3).

Director - Region 1


Shuhei Ono is an Associate Professor at the Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA). His research group develops and applies novel isotope proxies to trace the evolution of geochemical cycles and the interplay between microbes and geochemistry. Recent research topics include application of tunable laser spectroscopy for precise measurements of clumped methane isotopologues. His past service to the Geochemical Society includes the Clarke Award Committee, Editor for Geochemical News, and International Liaison for Goldschmidt 2016. He is a co-chair for Goldschmidt 2018.

Lesley Warren holds the Claudette Mackay-Lassonde Chair in Mineral Engineering and is the current Director of the Lassonde Institute of Mining at the University of Toronto. Her research combines environmental and microbial geochemistry, with a major emphasis on biogeochemical cycling in resource sector waste and wastewater contexts. She has presented at, organized, and convened multiple sessions at Goldschmidt conferences, and served as Chair or Co-Chair for the biogeosciences theme several times. She has also served as an Editor for Geochemical News and served on both the GS Award Nominations and Program committees.


Director - Region 3


Fang Huang is a professor of geochemistry at the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) where he serves as the Director of the Metal Stable Isotopes Geochemistry Laboratory. His interests include experimental petrology, quantum chemistry, and isotope geochemistry applied to deciphering how the Earth works in the past and future. He has focused on U-series disequilibrium to understand time-scales and processes of volcanism. More recently, he has become interested in the basic principles and novel applications of metal stable isotopes (such as Ba, V, and Cd). He is serving on the Science Committee of the 2018 Boston Goldschmidt conference.

Weidong Sun is a Professor and Director of the Center of Deep Sea Research at the Institute of Oceanology, the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He works mainly on trace element and isotope geochemistry, with research interests on the Subduction Factory, namely the chemical processes during plate subduction; Pacific plate reconstruction, mechanisms of crust formation and mineralization; the behavior of chalcophile elements and mineralization; origin of mantle plumes. Weidong served on the Goldschmidt Award Committee for the GS (2013-2015), the Science Evaluation Panel of the International Ocean Drilling Project (2013-2016), and as Regional vice-president-Asian (2010-2013) and Fellow of the Society of Economic Geologists, and a board member of Society of Minerology Petrology and Geochemistry of China. He currently serves as the Editor of Solid Earth Sciences and Associate Editor of Geochimica et Cosmochimica Acta.