Home Home
contact | search | site map

Goldschmidt2012 Travel Grants

UPDATE: Travel Grant award notification letters were sent on 21 March 2012.

2012 Goldschmidt Travel Grant Awardees (alphabetical by first name):

Adam Fuller, Adiari Vazquez-Rodriguez, Aleksandra Mloszewska, Andrew Fornadel, Angela Doherty, Bess Koffman, Bingjie Ouyang, Brendan Hanger, Brendan Hildum, Camille Partin, Camille Sonneville, Carla Rosenfeld, Chad Hobson, Christine Rasoazanamparany, Christopher Reinhard, Clare Thorpe, Cory Paliewicz, Daniel Eldridge, Darrel Tremaine, David Budd, Davina Wyman, Elizabeth Krukowski, Erin LeGalley, Fiona Larner, Gabrielle Stockmann, George Daly, Gregory Henkes, Guillem Gisbert, Jackie Kendrick, James Deane, Jared Wilmoth, Jesse Farmer, Jocelyn Lavallee, Joshua O'Brien, Juan VillaRomero, Justine Jaguin, Kathryn Clark, Mahnaz Rezaeian, Margaret Hinkle, Marnie Norris, Matt Smith, Matteo Kausch, Matteo Masotta, Mohammed Rafi Sayyed, Nicholas Pester, Patrick Frings, Peter Douglas, Prashant Rajput, Randal Paniello, Raquel Cardoso, Ravi Rangarajan, Ritika Kaushal, Ryan Cochrane, Ryan Scott, Sara Thomas, Shikma Zaarur, Sunil Kumar Singh, Susan Ebrahimi, Susanne McDowell, Swapan Sahoo, Taichi Nozu, Takanori Kagoshima, Tamara Carley, Teresa Ubide, Tiezheng Tong, Tingting Zhu, Travis McCarron, Vineet Goswami, Volker Haigis, W. Jesse Hahm, Yi Ge Zhang, Young Joon Rhee, Zimeng Wang

There were 275 applications for 73 grants.

Distribution of Grants

Recipients have the option of applying their grant to their registration fee. If they have already paid their registration or have a balance remaing on the grant, they will be able to pick up the remaining balance at the conference.

Terms and Conditions

The Goldschmidt Travel Grant program annually provides funding to delegates attending the Goldschmidt Conference. The amount and terms of funding vary from year to year so please read the terms and conditions below, even if you have applied and received funding in the past.

Statement of Purpose

The purpose of the Goldschmidt2012 Travel Grant Program is to provide financial support to qualified students who are presenting their research at the 2012 V.M. Goldschmidt Conference in Montreal, Canada.

If financial support is available, the program may also provide financial support to qualified delegates from low-economy countries (see list of qualifying countries at the bottom of this page). We will accept applications, but applicants must realize that funding may not be available.

Dates and Deadlines

01 Dec 2011 Abstract Submission opens
16 Jan 2012 Registration opens
18 Jan 2012 Travel Grant Application & Advisor Recommendation Letter Submission opens
01 Feb 2012 Abstract Deadline
08 Feb 2012 Travel Grant Application Deadline (23:59 UTC)
15 Feb 2012 Advisor Recommendation Letter Deadline (23:59 UTC)
21 Mar 2012 Award notifications posted on website and email letters sent
20 Apr 2012 Early registration deadline
24 Jun 2012 Goldschmidt2012 begins
04 Jul 2012 Online Post-conference survey opens
11 Jul 2012 Online Post-conference survey closes

*Applicants must submit an abstract before applying for a travel grant.

Availability and Amount of Support

The program anticipates awards of up to 1000 CA$ (~1000 US$) with final number of awards dependent upon funding.

Program Supporters and Distribution Restrictions

Support for Goldschmidt2012 travel grants are anticipated from:

The Geochemical Society

The European Association of Geochemistry

The Geochemical Society of Japan

The National Science Foundation

Application Process

Before submitting an application please have the following materials:

  • Abstract number (provided after your abstract has been submitted);
  • One-page only PDF file of your CV (file name: cv.pdf);
  • One-page only PDF file of your abstract (file name: abstract.pdf);
  • One-page only PDF file of your essay on the broader impact and significance of the research to be presented at the conference (file name: essay.pdf);
  • Name and email address of your advisor (non-student low-economy delegates, please submit a recommending peer);
  • Budget justification (must be in Canadian Dollars, use www.xe.com for conversion rates).
  • It is critical that uploaded files us the proper filename (simply: cv.pdf, abstract.pdf, and essay.pdf).


Once an application has been submitted, an email will be sent thanking you for submitting your application. A second email will also be immediately sent to your advisor (or peer) requesting a letter of recommendation. If your advisor did not receive the email, ask them to check their 'spam' folder before contacting Seth Davis at seth.davis@geochemsoc.org. When the recommendation letter has been submitted, a final email will be sent to the advisor with a copy to the applicant indicating that the application process has been completed. Applications without a recommendation letter will still be reviewed, but the letter of recommendation will be used to break ties.

Neither the Travel Grant Program administrators nor the Goldschmidt2012 Conference organizers shall be held responsible if an application is incorrectly submitted.

NOTE: Low-economy delegates use the same form. Instead of an advisor, please enter the name and email address of a peer who will be contacted to provide a letter of recommendation.

Determination of Merit

A review committee shall examine each application and assign a ranking to the application. The criteria examined:

  • Application form, including budget (0-2 points);
  • Curriculum vitae (0-2 points);
  • Abstract (0-6 points);
  • Brief essay on broader impact and significance of research (0-6 points);
  • Advisor's Letter of Recommendation (0-2 points).

Only a limited number of funds will be available. They will be distributed first by restrictions placed on the sponsorship (e.g. NSF requires that awardees be students attending an institution in the United States), then by rank, and if necessary by the strength of the letter of recommendation.

Distribution of Funds

Awardees must attend the conference to receive their award. The balance of an award will be available for pickup at set times and locations during the Conference. Awardees based in the United States will receive a CHECK IN U.S. DOLLARS (not CAD) which they may cash when they return from the conference. All other awardees will receive CANADIAN DOLLARS on site.

Post Conference Survey

Awardees will be required to participate in a post conference survey that rates their experience with the program and the conference and that seeks ways to improve both in future years.

Low Economy Countries

For the purposes of funding, the following countries are considered low economy:

  • Albania
  • Angola
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belize
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • China
  • Congo Rep.
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt Arab. Rep.
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran, Islamic Rep.
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kiribati
  • Kosvo
  • Lesotho
  • Maldives
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia, Fed. Sts.
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Nicaragua
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Philippines
  • Samoa
  • Sao Tome/Principe
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Syrian Arab Rep.
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tonga
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • Vanuatu
  • West Bank/Gaza