2021 BOD Election

All current GS members are eligible to vote in the Board of Directors election. Voting instructions will be sent by email on Nov. 19. Please contact gsoffice@geochemsoc.org if you have any questions about how to vote or did not receive the ballot. The deadline to vote is Dec. 10, 2020.

A brief biography of each candidate is presented below. Click on a candidate's name to visit his or her web page.

Non-Officer Director

Non-Officer Directors participate in Board discussions and serve on the Board as voting members. This is a three-year term of service. In order for the Board membership to reflect the regional diversity of the Society membership, this year requires election of one officer from North America (Region 1) and one from Africa, Asia, Australia, or Central/South America (Region 3).

Director - Region 1

(Select ONE)

Cin-Ty Lee is a geochemist with interests in mantle and crustal differentiation, ore genesis, weathering, interactions between the deep Earth and atmosphere, and crystal growth kinetics. He has published over 150 peer-reviewed papers in geochemistry, geophysics and tectonics. He has served as editor of Geochemistry, Geophysics and Geosystems, Geochemical Perspective Letters, and Science Advances. He has served in a number of leadership positions, including being department chair at Rice University. He is passionate about education, science communication, diversity and holding dialogs between academics and industry. He holds a PhD from Harvard University and a BA from UC Berkeley and has been a professor at Rice University since 2002.

Ashaki Rouff is an Associate Professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Rutgers University, Newark NJ USA. Her research focuses on understanding macroscopic and molecular-scale processes influencing contaminant behavior in natural and human-impacted systems. Current projects include nutrient recovery from wastes and wastewater, thermochemical evaluation of sorbents for contaminant gases, and heavy metal speciation in urban soils. The overarching goals of her research are environmental preservation, sustainable use of resources and promotion of a diverse geochemical workforce. She currently serves as Chair of the Division of Geochemistry of the American Chemical Society.

Director - Region 3

(Select ONE)

Fu-Yuan Wu is a research scientist and director of the Institute of Geology and Geophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (IGGCAS) in Beijing. His studies are mostly focused on the formation and modification of continental lithosphere, and rising and evolution of the Himalayan-Tibetan Plateau, using geochemical tracing techniques. He is a fellow of the Geochemical Society (GS) and Geological Society of America (GSA), and he is a member of the GS Award Nomination Committee.

Liping Zhou is Boya Distinguished Professor and Director of Institute of Ocean Research at Peking University in Beijing, China. Having engaged with broad research from paleoclimate of Eurasian aeolian deposits to isotopes of seawater and deep-sea sediments, he has focused on issues related to geochronology and paleoenvironmental proxies. He is particularly interested in applying multiple geochemical approaches for revealing and understanding past climate changes of different timescales recorded in continental and marine archives. His recent projects employ stable and radiogenic isotopes for tracing water masses and circulation in the South China Sea, the Philippine Sea and the NE Indian Ocean. He previously served on the Science Committee for the 2020 Goldschmidt Conference.