Home Home
contact | search | site map

Geochemical Society Awards

Recognizing geochemical achievements is an important function of the Geochemical Society.

Make a Nomination

Nominations are accepted annually for: V.M. Goldschmidt Award, F.W. Clarke Award, C.C. Patterson Award, A.E. Treibs Award and Geochemical Fellows. Nominations for the following year are due by October 15th. Nominations remain active for three award cycles.

V.M. Goldschmidt Award

Awarded annually for major achievements in geochemistry or cosmochemistry, consisting of either a single outstanding contribution, or a series of publications that have had great influence on the field.

F.W. Clarke Award

Awarded annually to an early-career scientist for a single outstanding contribution to geochemistry or cosmochemistry, published either as a single paper or a series of papers on a single topic.

C.C. Patterson Award

Awarded annually for a recent innovative breakthrough in environmental geochemistry of fundamental significance, published in a peer-reviewed journal.

Alfred Treibs Award

Awarded annually by the Organic Geochemistry Division for major achievements, over a period of years, in organic geochemistry.

Best Paper Award

Awarded annually by the Organic Geochemistry Division to the authors of a paper published in the previous year with significant contributions to organic geochemistry.

Geochemical Fellows

Bestowed annually by GS and EAG upon outstanding scientists who have, over some years, made a major contribution to the field of geochemistry.

Distinguished Service

Recognizes and documents outstanding service to the Geochemical Society and/or the geochemical community that greatly exceeds the normal expectations of voluntary service.

Ingerson Lecture Series

The recipient is selected annually by the GS Board of Directors and presented annually at the GSA Annual Meeting and Exposition.

Gast Lecture Series

The recipient is selected annually by the GS Board of Directors and the EAG Executive Council to a mid-career scientist. The lecture is presented annually at the V.M. Goldschmidt ConferenceTM

Berner Lecture

New Goldschmidt lecture honoring Robert Berner

Endowed Biogeochemistry Lecture

The Endowed Lecture in Biogeochemistry was launched in 2016 thanks to a major gift from an anonymous GS member. The lecture is delivered each year at the Goldschmidt Conference.

Award Committee Guidelines