Home Home
contact | search | site map

Severinghaus Named 2011 Patterson Medalist

Contact: Seth Davis, seth.davis@geochemsoc.org

ST. LOUIS, MO, USA - Dr. Jeffrey P. Severinghaus of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California - San Diego, has been named the 2011 recipient of the Claire C. Patterson Award. The award will be presented at the Goldschmidt2011 Conference in Prague, Czech Republic.

Dr. Severinghaus received his Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1995. He became Assistant Professor at Scripps in 1997 before becoming Professor of Geosciences in 2004. The award recognizes Dr. Severinghaus' research on measurements of gases trapped in ice as a means understanding environmental conditions, environmental change, and the mechanisms behind environmental changes.

The C.C. Patterson Award was established in 1998 to recognize a recent innovative breakthrough in environmental geochemistry of fundamental significance, published in a peer-reviewed journal. The award consists of an engraved silver medal, a certificate and a $750 (US$) honorarium.

The 2011 C.C. Patterson selection committee was chaired by Dr. Gideon Henderson and included Drs. Heileen Hsu-Kim, Kenji Mibe, Alakendra Roychoudhury, Ruth Blake and Sidney Hemming.

The Geochemical Society is a scientific society, founded in 1955, to encourage the application of chemistry to the solution of geological and cosmological problems. Membership is global with over 3,200 members from academia, government, and industry in more than 55 countries. The GS Business Office is based in the Earth and Planetary Sciences Department of Washington University in St. Louis.