Home Home
contact | search | site map

Cin-Ty Lee Named 2009 Clarke Medalist

Contact: Seth Davis (seth.davis@geochemsoc.org)
10 April 2009

ST LOUIS, MO, USA - Dr. Cin-Ty Lee of Rice University in Houston, TX has been named the recipient of the 2009 F.W. Clarke Medal. The award will be given at the Goldschmidt2009 Conference in Davos, Switzerland.

Dr. Lee is a 2001 Ph.D. graduate from Harvard University where he studied under the tutelage of Roberta Rudnick. He has been a professor at Rice University since 2002, first as an Assistant Professor and then, in June 2008, as an Associate Professor. Before that he was a post-doctoral Fellow at the California Institute of Technology.

"Lee's scientific record shows an outstanding combination of classical isotopic and other geochemical applications combined with evidence from independent research disciplines in the quest to better understand crustal evolution. Lee has a remarkable record of early productivity and demonstrably superlative scientific impact.

"Lee's work has revolutionized the capability to link geochemistry and geodynamics/geophysics in terms of understanding the evolution of continental lithosphere. He is prolific and has made a number of contributions across a wide variety of geochemical disciplines."
-Remarks of the 2009 Clarke Award Committee

The F.W. Clarke Award recognizes an early-career scientist for a single outstanding contribution to geochemistry or cosmochemistry, published either as a single paper or a series of papers on a single topic. The award consists of an engraved sliver medal, a certificate and a $750 (US$) honorarium.

The 2009 F.W. Clarke Award Committee is comprised of a seven-member volunteer panel comprised of Drs. Christian Koeberl (Chair), Robert Ayuso, Julie Bryce, Douglas Hammond, Sung Hi Choi, Craig Manning and Bruce Yardley (Chair of the EAG Houtermans Medal).

The Geochemical Society is a scientific society, founded in 1955, to encourage the application of chemistry to the solution of geological and cosmological problems. Membership is international with more than 2900 members from academia, government and industry in more than 55 countries.

Photo Credit: Cin-Ty Lee