Home Home
contact | search | site map

Make a Nomination

Nominations for the society's 2019 awards are open until Oct. 31, 2018.

As part of our mission to encourage the application of chemistry to the solution of geological and cosmochemical problems, we annually recognize excellence and achievement in geochemistry and cosmochemistry. The society actively encourages diversity in its awards, which is only possible with a large and excellent pool of nominees. Read more about this here.

Nomination Requirements

All nominations must include:

  • A completed the Cover Sheet. Download the Word Document or the PDF File
  • The Principal Nominator's Letter (up to 2 pages) including a brief explanation of the significance of the candidate's work;
  • Up to three Letters of Support (maximum of 2 pages each; nominations with more than three letters will NOT be accepted);
  • A brief (up to 4 pages) CV for the candidate;
  • A listing of the candidate's publications.

Submission Method

The preferred method is a single .pdf file emailed to awards@geochemsoc.org. Packages may also be sent by postal mail to the address at right.

Who may nominate

With few exceptions, anyone (regardless of Society membership) may may make an award nomination. The current Board of Directors and the current selection committee of the award in question may not make nominations nor provide supporting letters for nominations. Additionally, the OGD Executive Committee may not nominate nor provide supporting letters for the Hayes, Treibs or OGD Best Paper Awards. Members of the EAG Executive Council may not nominate nor provide supporting letters for the Geochemistry Fellows honor. All, however, may encourage others to make nominations.

Who may be nominated

With few exceptions, anyone may be nominated for a qualifying award. Award selection is not judged with regard to citizenship nor membership in the Geochemical Society.
These groups may not be nominated:

  • The current Board of Directors.
  • The current selection committee of the award in question.
  • Past recipients of the award in question.
  • OGD Awards (Hayes, Treibs, and Best Paper): The current OGD Executive Committee
  • Geochemistry Fellows: The current EAG Council

Nomination deadlines

Award selection is based on the scientific merit of the nominee and the quality and completeness of the nomination. To be considered for a 2019 award, nominations must be received by October 31, 2018. Once submitted, nominations are held for three award cycles (e.g. 2019-2021). If the nominee becomes ineligible during this period, the nomination will be removed from those being considered. Nominators may update their packages every year to keep them current.

Nominations are accepted for the following GS awards:

V.M. Goldschmidt Award honors major achievements in geochemistry or cosmochemistry. Such achievements may consist either of a single outstanding contribution, or a series of publications that have had great influence on the field.

F.W. Clarke Award honors a single outstanding contribution to geochemistry or cosmochemistry, published by a young scientist as a single paper or a series of papers on a single topic. Eligibility for this award is met if either of the following criteria is satisfied on the first day of the year in which the award is given: (1) the candidate must have received a recognized doctorate or its equivalent within six years; or (2) must not have celebrated his/her thirty-fifth birthday. An individual may not receive the Patterson and Clarke Awards for the same body of work. Nominations from all fields of geochemistry are encouraged. (For 2019: Nominee must either be born on/after Jan 1, 1984, or have received a PhD on/after Jan 1, 2013.)

John Hayes Award honors a mid-career scientist for outstanding accomplishments that draw together multiple fields of investigation to advance biogeochemical science. The awardee should typically be between 8 and 18 years of receiving their PhD, but an exception may be made for individuals whose career path has been altered by family, health, or other life challenges.

C.C. Patterson Award honors a recent, particularly important and innovative breakthrough in environmental geochemistry, that is considered to be of fundamental significance. The research must be highly original and contribute in a significant fashion to our understanding of the natural behavior of the Earth's environment. Such a contribution must be in the form of a widely recognized important piece of innovative scientific research published in a peer reviewed journal. There is no age limit associated with this honor. An individual may not receive the Patterson and Clarke Awards for the same body of work. If the scientific discovery is clearly a joint effort, then the award may be shared in a given year.

Alfred Treibs Award honors major achievements, over a period of years, in organic geochemistry. Such achievements shall consist of pioneering and innovative investigations which have made highly significant contributions to the understanding of the origin and fate of organic materials in the geosphere and/or in extraterrestrial environments.

Geochemistry Fellows honors outstanding scientists who have, over some years, made a major contribution to the field of geochemistry. Urey, Goldschmidt, Patterson, and Treibs Award winners become Fellows automatically.