Home Home
contact | search | site map

GS Announces Winner of 2011 V.M. Goldschmidt Award

Contact: Seth Davis, seth.davis@geochemsoc.org

Saint Louis, MO - Frank Millero, professor at the University of Miami Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science has been named the 2011 recipient of the V.M. Goldschmidt Award.

'Frank Millero has been the leading mind in the application of physical chemistry to natural waters, and his work has defined the field for the last four decades. His scientific output is outstanding for its depth, breadth, clarity and quality. Every oceanographer or limnologist who depends upon accurate measurement of water density or sound velocity is indebted to Frank's fundamental equation of state research.'
-Quoted from Dr. Millero's nomination

Dr. Millero will be presented with the V.M. Goldschmidt Award at the Goldschmidt2011 Conference in Prague, Czech Republic.

The V.M. Goldschmidt Award annually recognizes a distinguished scientist for major achievements in geochemistry or cosmochemistry. This award is named in honor of Dr. Victor M. Goldschmidt, considered to be the founder of modern geochemistry.

The 2011 V.M. Goldschmidt Selection committee was chaired by Cindy Lee and included Enid Martinez, Paul Asimow, Victoria Bennett, Francis Albarede, Barbara Sherwood Lollar and EAG's Urey Chair Eric Oelkers.

The Geochemical Society is a scientific society, founded in 1955, to encourage the application of chemistry to the solution of geological and cosmological problems. Membership is global with over 3,100 members from academia, government and industry in more than 55 countries. The GS Business Office is based in the Earth and Planetary Sciences Department of Washington University in St. Louis.