Home Home
contact | search | site map

Mark Thiemens Named 2009 Goldschmidt Medalist

12 February 2009
Contact: Seth Davis (seth.davis@geochemsoc.org)

The Geochemical Society is please to announce that Professor Mark Thiemens has been selected as the recipient of the 2009 V.M. Goldschmidt Medal.

G. Lang Farmer, Chair of the 2009 V.M. Goldschmidt Award Committee, reported to the Board of Directors that

The committee agrees with the nominator for Dr. Thiemens that Thiemens' work on non- mass-dependent isotope fractionations completely changed the rules of the isotope geochemistry game. Prior to his work, minor stable isotopes were largely ignored as it was assumed that mass dependent fractionations were the only source of stable isotope ratio variations. Dr. Thiemens' work on atmospheric ozone, and his subsequent studies of isotope fractionations in other elements pertaining to atmospheric chemistry and rock-gas interactions, showed that mass independent fractionations can, and do, take place in nature. This realization has opened whole new avenues of geochemical research.

The Goldschmidt Award will be presented at the Goldschmidt2009 Conference in Davos, Switzerland. The award includes a medal, a certificate, an honorarium, and a plenary talk presented at the conference.

Dr. Thiemens is Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of California - San Diego and leads the Thiemens Research Group. Previous Geochemical Society honors received by Dr. Thiemens include citationist for the 2000 F.W. Clarke Award recipient, James Farquhar and more recently he was named a Geochemical Fellow in 2007.