C.C. Patterson Award

Clair Cameron Patterson

C.C. Patterson developed the uranium-lead dating method. Using lead and uranium isotopic data from the Canyon Diablo meteorite, he calculated an age for the Earth of 4.55 billion years. A figure far more accurate than those that existed at the time and one that has remained unchanged for over 50 years.

Photo: from Clair's 1980 Goldschmidt Medal acceptance speech, published in GCA v.45/8 p.

The Clair C. Patterson Award is presented annually. The award consists of an engraved silver medal, an honorarium (US$ 750), a certificate, and inclusion as a Geochemistry Fellow.

The Clair C. Patterson Award, presented annually at the V.M. Goldschmidt Conference, recognizes an innovative breakthrough of fundamental significance in environmental geochemistry, particularly in service of society, consisting of either a single outstanding contribution or a short series of papers published within the last decade. The research must be highly original and contribute in a significant fashion to our understanding of the natural behavior of the Earth's environment. There is no age limit associated with this honor. An individual may not receive the Patterson and Clarke Awards for the same body of work. If the scientific discovery is clearly a joint effort, then the award may be shared in a given year.

Go to Make a Nomination for eligibility and nomination requirements.

YearMedalistCitationistPublished Speech
2021 Michael Hochella    
2020 Naohiro Yoshida Mark Thiemens Citation
2019 Barbara Sherwood Lollar James Farquhar Citation | Acceptance
2018 Sigurður Reynir Gíslason Eric H. Oelkers GCA v. 246 pp. 585-593
2017 Kai-Uwe Hinrichs Fumio Inagaki  
2016 William Casey Tom Swaddle GCA v. 201 pp. 430-433
2015 Karen H. Johannesson Berry Lyons GCA v. 172 pp. 463-464
2014 Christopher Reddy Timothy Eglinton GCA v. 172 pp. 458-460
2013 Joel Blum Yigal Erel Citation | Acceptance
2012 Stefan Schouten Rich Pancost ..
2011 Jeffrey P. Severinghaus Boaz Luz ..
2010 Robert F. Anderson Jerry McManus ..
2009 Boaz Luz Yehoshua Kolodny GCA v.89 pp.339-342
2008 William Sunda Brad Tebo GCA v.73/13S pp.S10-S12
2007 Gordon E. Brown, Jr. George Helz GCA v.72/12S pp.S9-S11
2006 Fred T. MacKenzie John Morse GCA v.71/15S pp.S14-S18
2005 Kenneth Bruland Margaret Delaney ..
2004 George W. Luther, III David Rickard GCA v.70/18S pp.S13-S15
2003 William F. Fitzgerald W. Berry Lyons GCA v.68/9 pp.1959-1962
2002 Henry Elderfield Alex N. Halliday GCA v.67/13 pp.2309-2311
2001 Francois M.M. Morel Dianne K. Newman GCA v.66/4 pp.553-555
2000 Edward A. Boyle Henry Elderfield GCA v.65/6 pp.1007-1010
1999 R. Lawrence Edwards G.J. Wasserburg GCA v.64/4 pp.755-761
1998 Michael L. Bender .. ..