Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award will be presented on an irregular basis at the discretion of the GS Board of Directors. The award recognizes outstanding service to the Geochemical Society and/or the geochemical community that greatly exceeds the normal expectations of voluntary service. The award does not have to be given each year. The society presents a plaque and honorarium to the recipient.

Nominations of people from underrepresented groups are encouraged (e.g., women, non-white researchers and/or researchers from Asia, Africa and Latin America, disabled scientists, those who have led diversified careers, other historically minoritized groups, and intersections thereof).

YearRecipientCitationPublished Speech
2023 Ken Rubin Service as Goldschmidt Conference Chair for 2020 and 2022 conferences  
2020 Sam Savin Service as treasurer of the society from 2011-19.  
2019 Marc Norman Service as executive editor of GCA GCA v. 272 pp. 287-288
2015 Seth Davis Service as chief operating officer of the society  
2014 Carla Koretsky Service as editor of Geochemical News and chair of student travel grant comm.  
2013 Kerstin Lehnert, Klaus Peter Jochum, Baerbel Sarbas, and J. Douglas Walker Efforts to bring modern online data management to geochemistry  
2009 Frank A. Podosek Service as executive editor of GCA  
2007 Michael F. Hochella, Jr. Service as GS president, co-organizer of the 2001 Goldschmidt Conference, and principal editor of Elements GCA v.73/13S pp.S5-6
2005 Guenter Faure Service as executive editor of GCA and on the boards of GS and IAGC GCA v.71/15S pp.S30-32
2004 Claude J. Allègre Helped create the European Union of Geosciences and the European Association of Geochemistry GCA v.70/18S pp.S19-21
2003 Hubert L. Barnes Service as GS president, organizer of the first Goldschmidt Conference, and other contributions GCA v.68/9 pp.1927-9
2002 Denis M. Shaw Service as executive editor of GCA GCA v67/13 pp.2317-9