Melbourne Goldschmidt Wins Meeting of the Year Award

Date: 5 AUGUST 2008
Contact: Seth Davis (

In May 2008, it was announced that the 2006 V.M. Goldschmidt Conference™ was awarded the prestigious Meetings and Events Industry’s 2007 Meeting of the Year - more than 500 delegates Award.

The 2006 conference was held from 27 August to 1 September, 2006 at the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre in Melbourne, Australia. It marked the 16th Annual V.M. Goldschmidt conference and became the first Goldschmidt held in the southern hemisphere. 1515 abstracts were submitted and 1283 delegates from 37 countries attended.

The Executive Organizing Committee included Simon Turner (pictured with the award), Janet Hergt, John Foden, Hugh O’Neil and Greg Yaxley. The Scientific Program Committee included Mark Harrison, Jon Woodhead, Marc Norman, Vickie Bennett, Andy Barnicoat, Andy Gleadow, Kurt Knesel, and Bruce Schaefer. The conference was managed by Tour Hosts Pty. Limited of Sidney, Australia.

The Annual V.M. Goldschmidt Conference™ has become the premiere international conference on geochemistry. It is owned and sponsored by the Geochemical Society and the European Association for Geochemistry. Goldschmidt2009 will be in Davos, Switzerland and Goldschmidt2010 will be in Knoxville, TN, USA.