F.W. Clarke Award

Frank Wigglesworth Clarke

F.W. Clarke was a chemist who determined the composition of the Earth's crust. He has been called the Father of Geochemistry.

The F.W. Clarke Award is presented annually at the Goldschmidt conference.

The award consists of an engraved silver medal, an honorarium (US$ 750), and a certificate.

The F.W. Clarke Award honors a single outstanding contribution to geochemistry or cosmochemistry by an early-career scientist.

Outstanding Contributions may include:

  • a single paper or series of publications that represent an outstanding contribution or an innovative breakthrough;
  • building new, extending / refurbishments, and/or technical improvements to infrastructure and techniques;
  • capacity building - especially in developing countries or emerging disciplines;
  • significant contributions to the community such as through meeting organization, building peer-networking groups, other positive initiatives, and tangible efforts that advance diversity, equity, and inclusion;
  • work with policy makers to ensure that their decisions are grounded in rigorous science;
  • teaching and training the next generation of geochemists;
  • communication of the intrinsic excitement of our field to the general public, where connecting with traditionally underrepresented or underserved people will be considered a plus.

Nominations of people from underrepresented groups are encouraged (e.g., women, non-white researchers and/or researchers from Asia, Africa and Latin America, disabled scientists, those who have led diversified careers, other historically minoritized groups, and intersections thereof).

To be eligible for this award, the candidate must have received a recognized doctorate or its equivalent within seven years of the first day of the year in which the award is given. Exceptions may be made for individuals whose career path has been altered by family, health, or other life challenges. An individual may not receive the Patterson Award, Clarke Award, and/or the European Association of Geochemistry’s Houtermans Award for the same body of work. Nominations from all fields of geochemistry are encouraged. (For 2024: Nominee must have received a PhD on/after Jan 1, 2017.)

Go to Make a Nomination for eligibility and nomination requirements.

YearMedalistCitationistPublished Speech
2024 Jihua Hao    
2023 Sarah Aarons John Higgins Citation | Acceptance
2022 Yige Zhang Ethan L. Grossman Citation | Acceptance
2021 Mark Torres Joshua West Citation | Acceptance
2020 Daniel Stolper Michael L. Bender Citation | Acceptance
2019 Thomas Kruijer Thorsten Kleine GCA v. 274 pp. 333-336
2018 Noah Planavsky Tim Lyons GCA v. 246 pp. 594-596
2017 Francis M. McCubbin Andrew Steele GCA v. 225 pp. 228-229
2016 Laurence Yeung John Eiler GCA v. 201 p. 438
2015 Anat Shahar Edward Young GCA v. 172 pp.466-467
2014 Matthew G. Jackson Nobumichi Shimizu ..
2013 Blair Schoene Urs Schaltegger Citation | Acceptance
2012 David T. Johnston Tim Lyons ..
2011 Rajdeep Dasgupta Marc M. Hirschmann Citation | Acceptance
2010 Thorsten Kleine Klaus Mezger ..
2009 Cin-Ty Lee Qing-zhu Yin GCA v.85 pp.346-348
2008 Andrew D. Jacobson Joel Blum GCA v.73/13S pp. S7-S9
2007 Ethan F. Baxter Don DePaolo GCA v.72/12S pp.S6-S8
2006 Alexis S. Templeton Gordon E. Brown, Jr. GCA v.71/15S pp.S22-S26
2005 James A. van Orman Timothy Grove GCA v.71/15S pp.S19-S21
2004 Andrea G. Grottoli Peter K. Swart GCA v.70/18S pp.S16-S18
2003 Paul D. Asimow Edward M. Stolper GCA v.68/9 pp.1963-1966
2002 Ruth E. Blake Lynn M. Walter GCA v.67/13 pp.2313-2316
2001 Craig C. Lundstrom R. James Kirkpatrick GCA v.66/4 pp.557-560
2000 James Farquhar Mark H. Thiemens GCA v.65/6 pp.1011-1013
1999 Andre Scheidegger Donald L. Sparks GCA v.64/4 pp.763-766
1998 Munir Humayun Robert N. Clayton GCA v.63/16 pp.2477-2479
1997 Jonathan Blundy Bernard J. Wood GCA v.62/4 pp.737-740
1996 Patricia M. Dove Teresa S. Bowers GCA v.60/19 pp.3767-3770
1995 Rebecca A. Lange Ian S.E. Charmichael GCA v.59/21 pp.4569-4572
1994 Carl B. Agee Michael J. Drake GCA v.59/7 pp.1435-1438
1993 Youxue Zhang Edward Stolper GCA v.58/8 pp.1987-1990
1992 Emily Klein Charles H. Langmuir GCA v.57/8 pp.1895-1898
1991 David M. Sherman Roger G. Burns GCA v.56/4 pp.1777-1780
1990 Richard J. Walker John W. Morgan GCA v.55/4 pp.1205-1206
1989 No Award Given
1988 Fred M. Phillips Stanley N. Davis GCA v.53/4 pp.952-954
1987 Eiichi Takahashi Chris Scarfe GCA v. 52 pp. 941-943
1986 Mark D. Kurz W.J. Jenkins GCA v.51/6 pp.1775-1777
1985 Edward M. Stolper David Walker GCA v.50/6 pp.1310-1312
1984 Andrew S. MacKenzie J.M. Hayes GCA v.49/7 pp.1669-1670
1983 E. Bruce Watson John S. Dickey GCA v.48/6 pp.1381-1382
1982 P. Jonathan Patchett Mitsunobu Tatsumoto GCA v.47/5 pp.984-985
1981 Jean-Francois Minster Stanley R. Hart GCA v.46/6 pp.1135-1137
1980 R.W. Potter, II David B. Stewart GCA v.45/8 pp.1388-1392
1979 Antonio C. Lasaga Heinrich D. Holland GCA v.44/8 pp.1236-1240
1978 Donald J. DePaolo Barclay Kamb GCA v.43/3 pp.442-446
1977 Bjorn O. Mysen David H. Eggler GCA v.42/4 pp.445-446
1976 James R. Wood Lawrence Hardie GCA v.41/6 pp.833-835
1975 David Walker David R. Wones GCA v.40/5 pp.567-569
1974 Lawrence Grossman Karl K. Turekian GCA v.39/5 pp.770-772
1973 Hiroshi Ohmoto Heinrich D. Holland GCA v.38/6 pp.978-981
1972 Dimitri A. Papanastassiou G.J. Wasserburg GCA v.37/6 pp.1629-1633