John M. Hayes Award

The John M. Hayes Award is given to a mid-career scientist for outstanding accomplishments that draw together multiple fields of investigation to advance biogeochemical science. The awardee will be selected based on innovative research which lies at an intersection among isotope geochemistry, organic geochemistry, microbial ecology, biogeochemistry, astrobiology or analytical innovation. The awardee should typically be between 8 and 18 years of receiving their PhD, but an exception may be made for individuals whose career path has been altered by family, health, or other life challenges.

The award will be given annually or biennially by the Organic Geochemistry Division of the Geochemical Society. Venues for conferring of the award may include the International Meeting on Organic Geochemistry, the Goldschmidt Conference, or an appropriate Gordon Conference. The award will include a certificate and funds of $2,000 for travel associated with attending the conference.

Go to Make a Nomination for eligibility and nomination requirements.


2023 Asmeret Asefaw Berhe    
2022 Boswell Wing    
2020 Karen Casciotti    
2019 Ann Pearson    
2018 Alex Sessions Ann Pearson  

Help support the John Hayes Award with a contribution

Donate Online Now

Donations are also accepted by check (from U.S. banks only) sent to: The Geochemical Society, 4220 King St, Alexandria, VA 22302. Checks should be made payable to the Geochemical Society. Please include a letter clearly identifying the check as intended for the Hayes Fund and providing your name and mailing address.

The Geochemical Society is a 501(c)3 charitable organization and, as such, donations from U.S. taxpayers will be tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. All donations will be acknowledged in writing.