V.M. Goldschmidt Award

Victor Moritz Goldschmidt (1888-1947)

V.M. Goldschmidt was a chemist considered to be the founder of modern geochemistry and crystal chemistry and developer of the Goldschmidt Classification of elements.

Short biography

The V.M. Goldschmidt Award is presented annually at the Goldschmidt conference. The award consists of an engraved gold-plated bronze medal, an honorarium (US$ 1,500), a travel stipend, and inclusion as a Geochemistry Fellow.

The V. M. Goldschmidt Award is the society's highest honor, presented annually for major achievements in geochemistry over a career.

Major achievements may include:

  • a series of publications that represents outstanding contribution or an innovative breakthrough;
  • building new, extending / refurbishments, and/or technical improvements to infrastructure and techniques;
  • capacity building - especially in developing countries or emerging disciplines;
  • significant contributions to the community such as through meeting organization, building peer-networking groups, other positive initiatives, and tangible efforts that advance diversity, equity, and inclusion;
  • work with policy makers to ensure that their decisions are grounded in rigorous science;
  • teaching and training the next generation of geochemists;
  • curation of significant sample collections and databases of long-term scientific value;
  • communication of the intrinsic excitement of our field to the general public, where connecting with traditionally underrepresented or underserved people will be considered a plus;
  • exceptional editorial contributions.

Nominations of people from underrepresented groups are encouraged (e.g., women, non-white researchers and/or researchers from Asia, Africa and Latin America, disabled scientists, those who have led diversified careers, other historically minoritized groups, and intersections thereof).

An individual may not receive the Goldschmidt Award and the Urey Award of the EAG for the same body of work. Nominations from all fields of geochemistry are encouraged.

Go to Make a Nomination for eligibility and nomination requirements.

2024 Donald E. Canfield    
2023 Roberta L. Rudnick Fang-Zhen Teng Citation | Acceptance
2022 Marilyn L. Fogel    
2021 Bernard Marty Yuji Sano Citation | Acceptance
2020 Richard Carlson Albrecht Hofmann Citation | Acceptance
2019 Donald J. DePaolo Frederick J. Ryerson GCA v. 272 pp. 289-292
2018 Michael A. Arthur Brad Sageman GCA v. 246 pp. 581-584
2017 Jill Banfield Michael Hochella
2016 Alexandra Navrotsky Masaki Akaogi GCA v. 201 pp. 427-429
2015 Miriam Kastner Adina Paytan and Harry Elderfield GCA v. 172 pp. 469-470
2014 Timothy Grove Francis Albarede
2013 Henry Elderfield Ros Rickaby Citation | Acceptance
2012 Edward M. Stolper John Eiler
2011 Frank Millero George Luther
2010 Minoru Ozima Bernard Marty
2009 Mark Thiemens James Farquhar GCA v.89 pp.334-338
2008 Francis Albarède Marc Chaussidon
2007 Guenter Lugmair G.J. Wasserburg GCA v.73/13S pp.S1-S3
2006 Susan Solomon Lynn Walter
2005 E. Bruce Watson Mark Harrison GCA v.71/15S pp.S1-S3
2004 James R. O'Neil Hugh P. Taylor, Jr. GCA v.70/18S pp.S1-S5
2003 Bernard J. Wood Alex N. Halliday GCA v.68/9 pp.1955-1958
2002 John M. Hayes Daniel P. Schrag GCA v.67/13 pp.2301-2303
2001 Ikuo Kushiro Eiichi Takahashi GCA v.66/4 pp.549-552
2000 Geoffrey Eglinton Edouard Bard GCA v.65/6 pp.1003-1006
1999 James L. Bischoff Wayne C. Shanks, III GCA v.64/4 pp.751-754
1998 Werner Stumm James J. Morgan GCA v.63/19-20 pp.viii-xii
1997 Devendra Lal Wallace S. Broecker GCA v.62/4 pp.733-736
1996 Albrecht W. Hofmann Claude J. Allegre GCA v.60/19 pp.3763-3766
1995 Robert A. Berner John W. Morse GCA v.59/21 pp.4565-1434
1994 Heinrich D. Holland A.C. Lasaga GCA v.59/7 pp.1429-1434
1993 S. Ross Taylor Brian H. Mason GCA v.58/17 pp.3757-3760
1992 Stanley R. Hart Alan Zindler GCA v.57/8 pp.1891-1894
1991 A.E. (Ted) Ringwood Albrecht W. Hofmann GCA v.56/12 pp.4333-4338
1990 Edward Anders Michael J. Drake GCA v.55 pp.1201-1204
1989 Karl K. Turekian Harmon Craig GCA v.54/4 pp.1201-1205
1988 Harold C. Helgeson Denis Norton GCA v.53/4 pp.947-951
1987 Wallace S. Broecker Karl K. Turekian GCA v.53/8 pp.2135-2136
1986 Claude Allegre G.R. Tilton GCA v.51/6 pp.1771-1774
1985 James B. Thompson, Jr. Priestley Toulmin GCA v.50/6 pp.1307-1309
1984 Alfred O.C. Nier Harmon Craig GCA v.49/7 pp.1661-1668
1983 Samuel S. Goldich Zell E. Peterman GCA v.48/6 pp.1377-1380
1982 Konrad B. Krauskopf Donald E. White GCA v.47/5 pp.981-983
1981 Robert N. Clayton James R. O'Neil GCA v.46/6 pp.1133-1135
1980 Clair C. Patterson Samuel Epstein GCA v.45/8 pp.1383-1388
1979 Harmon Craig Karl K. Turekian GCA v.44/8 pp.1233-1236
1978 Gerald J. Wasserburg Samuel Epstein GCA v.43/3 pp.439-442
1977 Samuel Epstein Hugh P. Taylor, Jr. GCA v.42/4 pp.441-443
1976 Hans P. Eugster Donald L. Graf GCA v.41/6 pp.829-833
1975 Harold C. Urey
1974 Hans E. Suess Edward Anders GCA v.39/5 pp.767-771
1973 Robert M. Garrels Fred T. MacKenzie GCA v.38/6 pp.975-978
1972 Paul W. Gast William C. Phinney GCA v.37/6 pp.1625-1629